Skip to content
Rhondda Cynon Taf Counts — Rhondda Cynon Taf, in numbers.Local help →

Rhondda Cynon Taf, in numbers

Projects

Rhondda Cynon Taf council area. Every figure carries its own date.

The local plans, investments and decisions worth following.

3 selected records checked against official sources. A plan is not a completed project; each record shows the stage its source establishes.

Pontypridd

Former Marks & Spencer riverside plaza

The former buildings have become an open riverside space for public use and events.

Public space opened in late June 2026 · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council

What the source says: The council confirms opening. Two food-and-drink kiosks were delivered later for fit-out and tenant marketing; this does not confirm they are trading.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named project location only. No verified current ward impact footprint; no ward-wide effect is inferred.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Rhondda Cynon Taf regeneration programme →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

A derelict site is now public space →

Delivered kiosks are not operating businesses →

Connect local skills to local opportunities →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Aberdare

Rock Grounds redevelopment

An aparthotel, restaurant, bar and spa are proposed around the historic building.

Developer appointed; design and consultation reported · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council

What the source says: Initial-design consultation took place in summer 2025. The source describes proposed facilities and design work, not a completed development.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named project location only. No verified current ward impact footprint; no ward-wide effect is inferred.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Rhondda Cynon Taf regeneration programme →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Reuse Rock Grounds without losing its character →

Connect local skills to local opportunities →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Pontypridd

Police Station and Berw Road site

The council is considering parking, road improvements, homes and other uses.

Mixed-use options being developed · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council

What the source says: Options and possible demolition later in 2026 are described. No demolition completion or final development mix is established.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named project location only. No verified current ward impact footprint; no ward-wide effect is inferred.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Rhondda Cynon Taf regeneration programme →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Clearing a site can precede a funded replacement →

Make room for homes people can afford →

Connect local skills to local opportunities →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →