Skip to content
Rhondda Cynon Taf Counts — Rhondda Cynon Taf, in numbers.Local help →

Rhondda Cynon Taf, in numbers

People and living standards

Rhondda Cynon Taf council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Rhondda Cynon Taf council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 234,917 in 1991 to 241,015 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Rhondda Cynon Taf council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 235,369 people in 1996; 241,015 people in 2025. 2.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Rhondda Cynon Taf council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991234,917
1992235,202
1993235,468
1994235,147
1995235,553
1996235,369
1997236,043
1998234,474
1999233,904
2000232,370
2001231,910
2002231,795
2003232,361
2004233,971
2005234,070
2006234,493
2007234,471
2008234,724
2009234,743
2010234,459
2011234,373
2012235,271
2013235,145
2014235,284
2015235,233
2016235,567
2017236,357
2018236,685
2019237,574
2020238,039
2021237,545
2022239,303
2023241,617
2024241,793
2025241,015
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Rhondda Cynon Taf council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 50,009 people in 1996; 41,770 people in 2025. 16.5% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Rhondda Cynon Taf council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199149,848
199250,103
199350,474
199450,678
199550,484
199650,009
199749,972
199849,435
199949,200
200048,746
200148,244
200247,371
200346,805
200446,346
200545,835
200645,308
200744,646
200844,493
200944,393
201044,207
201144,325
201244,330
201344,154
201444,083
201543,939
201644,266
201744,476
201844,524
201944,535
202044,385
202143,692
202243,535
202343,318
202442,772
202541,770
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Rhondda Cynon Taf council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 147,529 people in 1996; 150,213 people in 2025. 1.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Rhondda Cynon Taf council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991147,156
1992147,014
1993146,862
1994146,590
1995147,167
1996147,529
1997148,350
1998147,384
1999147,061
2000146,167
2001145,859
2002146,696
2003147,783
2004149,797
2005150,326
2006151,060
2007151,607
2008151,605
2009151,228
2010150,541
2011149,734
2012149,262
2013148,220
2014147,677
2015147,070
2016146,634
2017146,712
2018146,457
2019146,736
2020147,045
2021147,066
2022148,425
2023150,250
2024150,379
2025150,213
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Rhondda Cynon Taf council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 37,831 people in 1996; 49,032 people in 2025. 29.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Rhondda Cynon Taf council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199137,913
199238,085
199338,132
199437,879
199537,902
199637,831
199737,721
199837,655
199937,643
200037,457
200137,807
200237,728
200337,773
200437,828
200537,909
200638,125
200738,218
200838,626
200939,122
201039,711
201140,314
201241,679
201342,771
201443,524
201544,224
201644,667
201745,169
201845,704
201946,303
202046,609
202146,787
202247,343
202348,049
202448,642
202549,032
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 237,653 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Rhondda Cynon Taf · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh3,5061.5%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African9970.4%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups2,4691%
White229,92396.7%
Other ethnic group7580.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 234,410 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Rhondda Cynon Taf · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White228,24197.4%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,5060.6%
Asian/Asian British3,0301.3%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British1,3080.6%
Other ethnic group3250.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 231,946 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Rhondda Cynon Taf · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White229,27398.8%
Mixed8120.4%
Asian/Asian British9280.4%
Black/Black British2070.1%
Chinese/Other7260.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 23.2% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Rhondda Cynon Taf council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £7,398 per person in 1997; £19,935 per person in 2024. 169.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Rhondda Cynon Taf council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19977,398
19987,316
19997,711
20008,404
20019,114
20029,628
20039,875
200410,436
200510,834
200611,132
200711,435
200811,897
200912,016
201012,145
201112,364
201212,892
201313,207
201413,587
201514,144
201614,240
201714,835
201815,369
201915,984
202016,331
202116,709
202217,046
202318,399
202419,935
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Rhondda Cynon Taf council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -30.3% in 1997; -23.2% in 2024. 7.1 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Rhondda Cynon Taf council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-30.3
1998-32.4
1999-31.8
2000-29.4
2001-26.3
2002-23.9
2003-24.2
2004-23.1
2005-22.9
2006-24
2007-25.5
2008-24.5
2009-25
2010-24.8
2011-24.1
2012-23.7
2013-24.6
2014-24.9
2015-25.7
2016-26.1
2017-24.7
2018-24.7
2019-24.1
2020-22.2
2021-23.5
2022-25.8
2023-24.8
2024-23.2
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

53.3%

21 March 2021 · Rhondda Cynon Taf council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

25%

21 March 2021 · Rhondda Cynon Taf council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

24.2%

21 March 2021 · Rhondda Cynon Taf council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

8.2%

21 March 2021 · Rhondda Cynon Taf council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£164,000

July 2026 · Rhondda Cynon Taf council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£754

August 2026 · Rhondda Cynon Taf council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.